top of page
Search
  • pedrobolaji7

LIFE OF A GRADUATE


Vivian graduated from the University of Darky where she studied Banking and finance, she was the best graduating student of the year. Having bagged a first class in Banking and Finance.


Her mother felt proud having produce Banker. Vivian was a lady of 25, she was slim and fair in complexion, she appeared very pretty and attractive.

She was posted to Rivers state for her youth service, she taught economics in Ugunms comprehensive secondary school, Bonny, in River state. The students liked her tolerance and good behavior, when she was done with her youth service, the school organized a send-off party for her as she received many gift from teachers and students.

After her youth service, she went to Lagos to stay with her friend Nkem, Nkem was a lady of 26 she studied economics at the same university with Vivian, she too had completed her national youth service “Make yourself comfortable Vivy” Nkem said as she offered Vivian a place to sit.

“Thanks girlfriend, you are now a big lady oo” said Vivian as she sat down on an old fashioned cushion.

“You are funny Vivy who is a big lady is it an unemployment graduate who feeds from hand to mouth” said Nkem.

“Whether employed or not, you are a big lady that is what I know and I believe you would one day get employed.” Vivian said

“Amen o o o and that’s by the way so tell me, how has it been with you” Nkem said

“Fine o o my sister, I thank God for everything” Vivian said.

“And what about him” asked Nkem as she smiled.

“Who” said Vivian

“Johnson of course” Nkem said

“Oh you are funny Nkem, Johnson is fine, he is done with his youth service.

Johnson was Vivian boyfriend he was short and had a big tommy, he graduated from University of Uyo where he studied Mass communication, he was working with a radio station in Abuja.

“Wow so very soon he will purpose to you now”

Nkem said as she tapped Vivian on the shoulder

“I don’t know about that one, please let’s close that chapter, go get me something to eat, I am extremely hungry” said Vivian

“Okay then, let me prepare something for Mrs. Johnson” teased Nkem as she left for the kitchen

“You are not serious Nkem you will not kill me” Vivian said.

She was later served breakfast by Nkem and they fogged ahead to discuss their Nysc experiences.

CAPTER 2

One month later, Vivian went for an interview at Ajibola Bank, she dressed in a black suite and was looking her pretty self.

She got there on time even before the managing director arrived with the board of interviewers.

“Good morning ma” Saluted the managing director who was a good looking young man of about 30 years, he was dressed in a co-operate wear.

“Good morning sir” Vivian greeted as she glanced at all interviewers.

“Can we meet you” said the managing director, of course sir, I am Vivian Ekuku. Am a graduate of Darky University, I studied Banking and Finance” Vivian said.

“Okay nice, what made you think you are qualified to be employed as a banker in our bank” another interviewer asked.

“Sir by virtue of my certificate, I think I am qualified” she answered

The managing director started lustfully at Vivian and said to himself “I will have you in my palms” she was asked to submit her credentials which she did and the managing director told her to see him in his office later.

At the managing director’s office, she glanced around the office, there was a lot of awards hung on the wall “He must be a very influential person Vivian muttered to herself.

“Young lady make yourself comfortable

Okay said the managing director.

“Okay thank you sir” replied Vivian.

“Ehm, uhm, you know, I have the final say whether or not you would be employed in this bank, so I will like it if you dance to my tune” He furthered.

“Okay sir, I have heard you” said Vivian.

“I mean you must dance to my tune” repeated the managing director.

“I didn’t understand sir, said Vivian, at that moment, he stood up and approached where she was sitting, he placed his hand on her shoulder and was caressing her gently.

“If you really need this job, then meet me at Berry hotel tomorrow by 8:00pm, said the managing director.

Vivian was not comfortable with how his hand moved all over her body, she stood up and struggled her way out of his office.

“Let go of me” she said and ran out of the office.

The secretary to the managing director was not surprised as Vivian walked pass her as though she was being persued by something, that was a usual thing that happened in the MD’s office, ladies who refused to “dance to his tune” always left his office in such manner.

When she got back home, Nkem was sitting outside the house waiting patiently for her arrival.

“Girlfriend, welcome” she said.

“Thanks babe”

She said in a weak voice and walked straight into their room Nkem knew that something was wrong with her friend, she followed her immediately to the room.

“Babe what’s it you look bad, what happened “ Nkem asked. It took her so long before she could open up to her friend.

“God will punish that MD for me” she said.

“Ah, ah, what is it with the MD, what did he do” asked Nkem.

“Could you imaging that I scaled through interviews successfully and that bastard invited me to his office and start harassing me sexually” she had told her friend as she wept.

“Take it easy babe, I understand how you feel and I know it would happen, that’s life of a graduate, just calm down and relax please I beg you please” Nkem said and hugged her friend.

Chapter 3

For five good years, Vivian suffered the same fate on her request for job, she became fed up with her unemployed state and made up her mind to do anything that will fetch her employment. She had interview with one Mr. Donald, a managing director of Tejud Bank, he was not different from other managers she had met before, he also promised to employ her based on one condition.

“I will get you employed under one condition” said Mr. Donald.

“Which is” asked Vivian

“sleep with me” he asked.

Vivian did not even give what he said and thought since she had made up her mind to do any thing just to make sure that she secured a job for herself.

“Okay sir, I accept” she said.

She met Mr. Donald at the hotel that evening and they had affairs, she kept it to herself and did not tell Nkem to know of it, she was later employed under customer care service at Tejud bank.

She worked there and was now a happy Vivian. No sooner than later, Vivian started feeling weak and sick, she visited her doctor one Saturday morning and the doctor recommended a Hiv test for her.

After the test was conducted, it was discovered that Vivian had Hiv.

“Ma, I’m sorry, you have Hiv” the doctor said and walked away.

“What? Jesus Christ, me have Hiv, oh am doomed” Vivian cried as she went back home Nkem noticed her mood and asked her what the matter was with her.

“What is it girl friend”

“I’m finished Nkem Vivian said

“God forbid, you are not finished” assured Nkem

“NKem I want to apologies to you for something, and promise me that you will forgive me” Vivian said.

Apologies, for what, okay whatever, I promise” Nkem said

I didn’t tell you that I had sexual affairs with Mr. Donald just for me to be employed and ever since he did it, I have not been myself so today I decided to go to the hospital for a laboratory test and it was discovered that I am Hiv positive” she said hopelessly.

“Whaaaat! H….. T….. what?

Shouted Nkem as tears rushed out of her eyes.

“You mean you slept with Mr. Donald, oh am highly disappointed in you” she continued.

“Please forgive me, I beg you please’ she pleaded.

“Now see what you have gotten yourself into, see the kind of shame you have brought upon yourself, what is the essence of the employment now”

Nkem said as she held Vivian by hand, “That if life of a graduate, you graduate to face reality and no longer what was written in the text book, oh God, save all graduates” Vivian wept.

Meaning of the words used in the passage above

1. Potential: currently unrealized ability

2. Virtue: the inherent power or efficacy of something

3. Credentials: documentary, evidence of someone’s right to authority, especially such a document given to an ambassador by a country

4. Struggled: great effort

PRODUCED BY

OKORO EMMANUEL

EDITED/MARKETED BY

PEDRO BOLAJI (SHECVY)

0 views0 comments
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page